Holmgang. Competition features

Holmgang Leagues

In this Competition, participating Clans are divided into special Holmgang Leagues, which differ from Leagues in personal, clan, and global Competitions.

There are seven Holmgang Leagues in total: the First League is the lowest one, and the Seventh League is the highest. The higher the League, the stronger the opponents and the bigger the rewards.

Clans that gain victory in Holmgang are promoted to a higher League, while defeated Clans are demoted to the League below. Clans that don't participate in the Competition stay in the same League.

If a Clan participates in the Competition for the first time, it starts from the lowest League, i.e. the First League.

Holmgang phases

The epic Competition lasts for 21 hours, but your Clan only participates in it during the time period that was selected when your Clan's application was submitted. Before and after this time period, Clans are put in waiting mode, in which they can relocate to the Islands of Trials and attack other Jarls. (These actions provide points for personal and Clan achievements in the Competition. Read more about this in the "Holmgang. Scoring points" subsection.)

Once the waiting period is over, the first Competition phase starts, where one Clan defends the Forts, and the other Clan attacks them. Each phase consists of preparation time and a Siege period, i.e. the battles themselves.

At the beginning of the preparation period, a level is randomly assigned to each of the defending Clan's Forts. A certain number of Island Guards and an amount of resources appears in every Fortress, as determined by the Fort's level.

During the preparation time, all Forts are protected by a Peace Treaty. The defending Clan can send reinforcements to their Forts, and the Clan Chief and Elders can set traps there. Jarls from the attacking Clan train warriors and plan their attack.

During the Siege period, the defending Clan's Forts become vulnerable to an attack, an Onslaught, or espionage. The aim of the attacking Clan is to destroy all of the opposing Clan's Forts, while the aim of the defending Clan is to prevent their opponent from doing so.

By attacking the Forts, Clans earn points that count toward their main Competition score. Read more about this in the "Holmgang. Scoring points" subsection.

Immediately after one phase is over, the preparation for the next one starts. At this point, the opponents switch roles: the defending Clan from the first phase will be attacking the opposing Clan's Forts in the next phase, and vice versa.

The phases will alternate until the time period that was selected for battles is over. After that, the participants will switch to waiting mode again until the Competition results are announced.

Jarls receive notifications about the beginning of each phase.

You can find out the current phase and the time left until it is over in the Fort window, as well as in the Info tab of the Competition window.

Was the article helpful?

Need help?

Get in touch. We'll be happy to help!

Ask a question